WELCOME TO OUR YEAR 8 OPTIONS EVENING PAGE 2022.

Welcome to Year 8 Options which is managed by Mrs Sharpe, Assistant Headteacher for Curriculum and Data. (l.sharpe@snacademy.org.uk). This year, we are running the entire process IN PERSON with an Options evening on Wednesday 9th March at 6:00pm- 8:00pm. At SNA , we pride ourselves on offering a wide curriculum allowing our students a breadth of opportunity to study the subjects of their choice. 

Following the feedback from last year’s virtual event, we will continue to upload videos on the Options Evening YouTube Channel. These will be updated in the coming weeks.

Our Youtube Channel has over 20 videos to support you in making your options choices including information videos by all subjects 

KEY DATES

  • Year 8 Assessment Week – 31st January – 3rd February (Timetable)

  • Options Evening – Wednesday 9th March 2022 6pm

  • Year 8 Parents Evening – Wednesday 16th March (X Band) and Monday 21st March (Y Band)

  • Deadline for option choices – Friday 25th March 2022

  • Confirmation of option choices - June 2022

KEY STAGE 4 CURRICULUM MODEL (YEARS 9-11)

All students will study a core curriculum and then have the opportunity to select up to four additional option subjects.

Click here for an overview to the full Key stage 4 curriculum 

FULL LIST OF OPTION SUBJECTS 

At South Nottinghamshire Academy, we are very proud to offer a full range of high quality and varied options subjects including both GCSE and Vocational courses. 

Information videos about each subject is available on our Virtual Option Evening YouTube Channel

GCSE Courses

  • GCSE Art And Design
  • GCSE Business Studies
  • GCSE Computer Science
  • GCSE Design Technology
  • GCSE Drama
  • GCSE French
  • GCSE Food and Nutrition
  • GCSE Geography
  • GCSE German
  • GCSE History
  • GCSE Media Studies
  • GCSE Physical Education (PE)
  • GCSE Spanish
  • GCSE Triple Science

Vocational Subjects (GCSE Equivalent)

  • BTEC Level 2 in Sport
  • Cambridge National in Creative iMedia
  • RSL Level 2 in Music
  • BTEC Level 2 in Health and Social Care


   

WHAT IF I HAVE MORE QUESTIONS ABOUT A SUBJECT AND WHETHER IT IS SUITABLE FOR ME?

If you have specific questions about a subject, you should, in the first instance, watch the information video in the Youtube Channel. Students will have the chance to ask questions during Taster sessions. Staff are also available for appointments at Parents evening (see below for more information). Alternatively, you may also  email Heads of Subject directly with questions.

Name

Subject

Email

Mrs Seaton Head of English z.seaton@snacademy.org.uk
Mr Pollard Head of Maths k.pollard@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Fitzgerald Head of MFL l.fitzgerald@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Farrington Head of Humanities (History) c.farrington@snacademy.org.uk
Mr Beeken Second in Humanities (Geography) c.beeken@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Lambourne Head of Science f.lambourne@snacademy.org.uk
Mr Melfi Head of ICT/Business p.melfi@snacademy.org.uk
Miss Briggs Head of PE l.briggs@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Hall Head of Technology/Art n.hall@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Lang Head of Drama l.lang@snacademy.org.uk
Mrs Wood Head of Music h.wood@snacademy.org.uk

 

PARENTS EVENING - 9TH & 11TH MARCH

Year 8 Parents evening is being run in person over two evenings – 16th March (X band) and 21st  March (Y Band) to accommodate all students and enable all parents to speak to as many subjects as possible. The booking system opens on February 28th 2022. Click here to make appointments

It is possible to speak to all subjects at Parents evening – including rotation subjects (Drama, Computing, Food, Music, Art and Design Technology).

Mrs Sharpe will also be available for one-to-one appointments on Parents Evening if you would like to discuss your child’s options. Please make these appointments through the booking system.

STILL STRUGGLING TO CHOOSE?

BBC Bitesize options hints and tips

Year 8 Careers booklet

MAKING YOUR CHOICES

Click here for more information on how to complete the options form, including ranking your choices.

Whilst every effort will made to accommodate student choices, there may be times when it will not be possible to fit all options choices for every student. The aim of this options process is to generate option block combinations that will provide the best 'fit' for the whole year group within the Academy timetabling constraints. Click here for further details.

OPTION FORMS

Every Year 8 student has been sent a personalised options form indicating which pathway they are following. Spare forms can be downloaded below or collected from school reception.

 

The deadline for submission of choices is Friday 25th March 2022. Paper forms should be completed and returned to school reception.